Fairy lights

I took you by the hand and we walked to your bed. The only light in the room was the fairy lights that hung over your bed. When you fell asleep I lay awake looking up at them. I counted them one by one. 14 small balls of light hung over the bed, hung over me, over you.

You had your arm around me and you were breathing softly. You looked so fragile when you sleept. Your eyes were fluttering and I thought to myself that I hoped that it was me that you were deraming about. I turned to my side, facing you and I lay my arm on your chest.

It’s funny how simple things like waking up in the middle of the night and seeing you used to make me so happy. But tonight I wont wake up in the middle of the night to find you dreaming beside me. I wont be lying under your fairy lights and my arm wont rest on your chest. I want to, but I will not call you. Resist temptation. 101 survival guide.

4 thoughts on “Fairy lights

  1. I still have those moments. It’s funny that you write this, because I’ve been thinking about him a lot and wondering if I should call or text… but it’s a bad idea. I won’t do it. So I’ll snuggle my pillow instead… until I can find someone who won’t slip away.

    Solidarity! It sucks, but one day it’ll be worth it. I hope. 🙂

    Great post!

    1. It does suck! But I still think (and hope) that it’s better than falling back into old ways. Because when I think about it, it’s not that I want to be with him as much as I want to be with, someone. But when there isn’t anyone better than him around he always wanders back into my thoughts. It’s hard but we’ll get there. I’ll do as you and resist the urge to call 😀

Leave a Reply

